Healthy Snack: Beet Chips

red beets and golden beets

I recently found myself with a surplus of beets.  I like beets, but I also know that they will last for weeks in the fridge, so I tend to overlook them, eating the more perishable items from my CSA box first.  Then, a month goes by, and I realize that I have a dozen or so neglected beets stuffed behind the jars of jam on the bottom shelve of the fridge.  What to do with these tasty little guys?

I mentioned in a somewhat recent tomato dehydration post that I now have access to a dehydrator, belonging to my roommate.  I had also seen recipes online for beet chips, and I decided that this would be a good experiment.

To make beet chips, you need:

-Beets: As many as you’d like.  I used 8
-Oil: I used grapeseed, but any cooking oil will do
-Salt
-Food processor, mandoline, or some tool that cuts very thin slices

-Dehydrator

Beets after they have been through the food processor

Peel the beets.  Cut into thin slices – about 1/8″.  Spread out the slices in a large bowl or on a cookie sheet.  Lightly drizzle with oil, then rub the oil into both sides of the slice.  Sprinkle with salt.  (If you’re feeling adventurous, I imagine that a little cayenne or chili powder would be nice with these.)  Place beet slices onto the trays of the dehydrator.  Dehydrate at 52 C, until crispy, approximately 9 hours.  (This will vary depending on the thickness of your slices.)

Note: I found that they were dry, but not particularly crispy when I first removed them from the dehydrator, as they were still warm.  They crisp up nicely when cool.

Yours in food,

Marla

PS If you don’t have a dehydrator, you can make beet chips in the oven.  I haven’t tried it yet myself, but here’s a recipe that looks promising.

Beet chips

One thought on “Healthy Snack: Beet Chips

Leave a Reply

