Switching gears: Freezer projects

Many months ago, I issued myself a challenge to eat up everything in my freezer by mid-May, so that it could be unplugged.  And then I got busy with report writing and forgot to write an update, until  Alison pointed out this unfinished business.

I didn’t meet my goal of emptying the freezer by mid-May, but it was empty and unplugged by June 1.  Yay!  I look forward to saving some energy over the summer months, using only the little freezer on top of my refrigerator until September. The last few items in the freezer were mostly things I had too much of.  Namely, fish stock and frozen zucchini.  I enjoy both, but I may have gone a little overboard.  Next year, I’d like to empty the freezer earlier.  One of my co-workers has a great way of emptying her freezer: Smoothie Month.  In March, she and her partner eat up all the berries in their deep freeze.  This allows them to unplug the freezer and gives them time to actually start missing berries before the fresh ones come out.

Now I’m switching gears to start thinking about putting this season’s food by.  I’ve already frozen 8 cups of rhubarb.  I chop it, then freeze it on cookie sheets, as I would berries, before putting into freezer bags.  Then the pieces aren’t stuck together in the freezer.  I also froze the spinach from my CSA box this week. My partner is out of town, and there are too many veggies to eat on my own and I like have frozen greens for the winter to make palak paneer.  To freeze spinach, simply wilt it, let cool and put in a freezer bag, squeezing out as much air as possible.

I’ve also been drooling over preserving books.  A few months ago I read “We Sure Can” by Sarah B Hood.  I’m really excited to try vanilla pear preserves, star anise plum preserves, and brandied sweet cherries, to name a few.  Oh, the possibilities…

What are you looking forward to preserving this season?

Yours in Food,

Marla

Leave a Reply

