Turning the Beet Around

I must now confess that I ordered too many beets for my root cellar this year.  However, I’m stubborn and the beets are still firm and I am just as determined as ever to eat ALL of them.  And thus beets are the subject of today’s clean out the root cellar and deep freeze challenge post.

In a thorough examination of all the cookbooks I own (current count: 30), I have discovered three beet recipe themes.  They are 1) pickled beets, 2) borscht, and 3) beet salads.

I passed on the pickled beets, still having 2 unopened jars in the basement. Then, I made a borscht.  Pretty good, probably my fifth batch of the season, but not something I can eat any more of this year.

 

So, that left the beet salad.  I have blogged on more than one occasion about my grated winter salad.  However, a girl’s gotta branch out.  More recently I’ve been roasting the beets and tossing them with spinach and goat cheese, and a little olive oil & balsamic vinegar.  (The first bags of spinach have hit the farmers market in Halifax.)  Yum.

 

But there are still more beets.  So, while I was in Cape Breton, I left my partner in charge of eating beets.  As I was running out the door with my bags, I shouted to him, “I love you. Eat the beets and take a few photos of whatever you make. Bye”.  And so he did.

This salad will actually use several ingredients from your root cellar.  Adam said it was great.  All I know is that there was none left upon my return home.

Beet, Potato, Carrot, Pickle and Apple Salad
from Quiches, Kugels and Couscous: My Search for Jewish Cooking in France by Joan Nathan

2 medium beets
5 tablespoons olive oil
salt to taste
2 small potatoes
1 large carrot
2 tablespoons red or white wine vinegar
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
dash of sugar
freshly ground pepper to taste
1 large kosher sour pickle, diced
1 tart apple
2 hard-boiled eggs, peeled and roughly chopped
1 tablespoon chopped fresh dill

Preheat oven to 350.

Cut tops off of the beets, scrub them, and place on baking sheet. Coat them with 1 tablespoon olive oil and roast for 1 hour.  Remove from oven.  When they are cool enough to handle, peel and cut them into 1/2 inch cubes.

Bring a small pot of salted water to a boil, and cook the potatoes until they are tender, about 15 minutes. Remove from water, allow to cool before cutting into 1/2 inch cubes.  Cook the carrot about about 5 minutes in that same boiling water. Remove with slotted spoon, cool and cut into 1/2 inch rounds.

Whisk together vinegar, garlic, mustard, sugar, salt and pepper to taste in a salad bowl.  Stream in the remaining 4 tablespoons olive oil.  Toss in the beets, potatoes, carrot, pickle, apple and eggs.  Stir until everything is just coated with vinaigrette.  Serve at room temperature, or refrigerate and serve the next day, either way garnished with fresh dill.

Yours in food,

Marla

2 thoughts on “Turning the Beet Around

Leave a Reply

