Blackberry Jam Redux

Hey, remember this blackberry jam?  I finally opened my jar.  It’s fantastic! (If I do say so myself.)

Confession: I’m not really into jam.  It’s tasty enough, I like to have a jar on hand, but I don’t eat it very often.  However, I figured I should include my preserves in the clean out the freezer & root cellar challenge.  Thus, this jam had to find its way into a recipe.

I settled on jam cookies.  I had a party to go to, wanted to bring something – it seemed perfect.

I went to the Martha Stewart website and found this recipe for jam cookies and whipped up a batch.  Don’t they look pretty? Ooooohh…  Ahhhh…

Well, they looked pretty before they went into the oven.  I don’t know if it was Martha or my oven, but unfortunately this recipe flopped.  At the 12 minute mark (the cookies were supposed to bake for 18-20 minutes) my kitchen  filled with smoke.  I hauled the cookies out of the oven.  Burnt!  Gah!  Boo.

I did manage to salvage about half of them.  The ones on the top rack were crispy, but okay.  But those on the lower rack were too burnt to eat (not that this stopped me from trying – that jam was REALLY good).

Anyway, I have made successful jam cookies in the past.  And it is a great way to use up any jam you have kicking around.  But, I think I need a new cookie recipe.

Anyone have a great one they’d like to share?

Yours in food,

Marla

3 thoughts on “Blackberry Jam Redux

Leave a Reply

