Quick Weeknight Meal

While I love to linger over a pot of deliciousness bubbling on the stove, the reality is that most nights when I come home from work I am STARVING! I find myself raiding the cupboards for crackers or chocolate chips or anything to tie me over until I can get dinner on the table. Sometimes, however, you stumble upon a simple, perfect, fast meal – one that you can get on the table in 20 minutes.

Last night was just such a meal: Mushroom & Asparagus Omelette with Steamed Beet Greens.

The brilliance of omelettes is their flexibility. If you have eggs, vegetables and ideally (but not necessarily) cheese, you can make an omelette.

First, heat your pan to medium. Then chop your veggies. I used 2 mushrooms, several chopped stalks of asparagus and a green onion. Use what’s in your fridge – peppers, spinach, zucchini, grated carrot, whatever. I always overfill my omelettes. (It’s a culinary flaw, but vegetables are good for you 🙂 ) If you are using cheese that needs grating, do that now. You don’t need a lot. I happened to have soft goat cheese on hand, so I skipped this step. Beat 2 eggs, or 3 eggs to make a bigger omelette to share. At 4 eggs things start to get unwieldly. Just make two omelettes at that point. Add salt and pepper and any other herbs you like. (I like basil or dill.)

Saute your veggies. Remove from pan. Add a pat of butter. When the butter starts to foam, pour in the beaten eggs. Flip when cooked on one side. Add veggies and cheese and fold over. Remove from heat. Voila!

I also made “Lemon Love Beet Greens” (from Eating by the Seasons).
1 bunch beet greens
2 tbsp butter
juice of one lemon
1 tbsp local honey

Wash and stem the beet greens.  Steam briefly in a covered pot.
In a separate pot, melt the butter.  Add the lemon juice and honey.  Cook over moderate heat to a light syrup.
Combine the beet greens with the syrup and heat through.
Serves 2

This was my first time using this recipe.  It was delicious!  I will be making this again.

Within 20 minutes of arriving home,  I was sitting at the table. Ahhhh….

Do you have a favourite week night meal, you’d like to share?

Yours in food,
Marla

One thought on “Quick Weeknight Meal

  1. Pingback: Spring Greens at the Truro Farmers Market « Adventures in Local Food

Leave a Reply

