Adventures in Cheese

About a month ago, I mentioned in the Indian Food workshop post that Ran-Cher Acres had given me advice over the phone on making my own paneer.

So, inspired by the palak paneer (which is one of my favourite foods), I headed to the farmers market and picked up a litre of milk.

Here’s how I made it:
Put the milk in a saucepan and bring to a boil while stirring constantly. Just as it comes to a boil, remove from heat. Add 1/4 cup of vinegar or lemon juice and stir. This will cause the milk to curdle. Strain the mixture through a cheese cloth or tea towel. Squeeze out the whey.

Voila paneer!

(And then I made more palak paneer using delicious spinach from the farmers market.)

Leave a Reply

