Stockpiling Stock

I cleaned my fridge last night. That may not seem like a big deal but, believe me, it is. This is very embarrassing and may even land me in some trouble with my mom but the truth is I had not cleaned by fridge in … a while. To be fair, I am not talking about a quick once over. I took everything out of the fridge and freezer – including shelves – and scrubbed.

So, what did I find, you might ask. Well, a lot of stock. In fact, I seem to be stockpiling stock. It’s interesting, just the other day I was having a conversation with Sheila, a recent – and fabulous – cooking class instructor, about the need for a local stock-maker. Just imagine, homemade stock made from sweet Nova Scotia carrots, feisty onions, golden parsnips, and crispy turnip simmering away with fresh herbs (River View Herbs in Maitland perhaps). Sound good huh? So much better than the salty store option.

While I would still love to find a local stock-maker, I seem to be stocked up at the moment – veggie stock, fish stock, chicken stock (well so far just a frozen carcass) and even lobster stock.

Soup anyone?

Yours in food, Keltie

Leave a Reply

