You Say Potato, I Say Apple of the Earth

I have been eating a lot of potatoes lately. Not just because they are delicious and not just because they are local but also because they are cheap. I love cheap – I get it from my dad – so when a local farmer contacted the EAC with a great rate on PEI organic potatoes I couldn’t say. In fact, I said “yes, 75 lbs please”. 75 lbs of organic PEI potatoes. That is a lot of potatoes for a single gal.

The potatoes arrived just before Christmas so, naturally, everyone on my Christmas list received a bonus bag of potatoes. Since Christmas, I have hosted, as well as attended, a few potlucks. I have prepared potatoes dishes.

Still, I have a substantial quantity of potatoes stored in my back porch (which it turns out makes a great improv root cellar). So, when the January EAC staff meeting came up – and I found myself on the hook for meeting snacks – I immediately thought POTATOES! Luckily, Sadra, my co-worker and snacks accomplice, loved the idea (he too had purchased an ambition quantity of organic PEI potatoes). First, we discussed simply incorporating a potato dish in the menu but soon we had agreed on an all potato menu.

We made mashed – or as Marla likes to call them, smashed – potatoes, rosemary roasted potatoes, and spicy potato fries. In the end, we made a last minute edition of apples – a close relative to the potato (or apple of the earth).

All this talk about potatoes is making me hungry. Perhaps potato latkas for dinner?

Yours in food, Keltie

One thought on “You Say Potato, I Say Apple of the Earth

Leave a Reply

