Baking with Veggies: THE Pumpkin Chocolate Swirl Brownie MMMMmmmmmmmmm

I have become a one trick pony in the kitchen.

I have become a one trick pony in the kitchen and it is all because of Pumpkin Chocolate Swirl Brownies. Honestly, they are amazing, simple but impressive, unique and local – oh, and addictive.

I came across the Pumpkin Chocolate Swirl Brownie recipe while searching for information on baking with Fall/Winter vegetables. My search began about three weeks ago now – necessitated by a relatively small pumpkin that seemed to be following me (even in my move to a new apartment). The pumpkin was actually very tasty looking – round and a bit squat, smooth, and bright orange – yet I kept avoiding it in the kitchen.

I have quite the sweet tooth so the logical thing to do seemed to be baking my handsome little pumpkin into something sweet and delicious – but what? Of course, there is the timeless pumpkin pie but, to be honest, I am not a big fan of pies. There’s the classic pumpkin loaf – an old favourite of mine – but not inspiring. There’s the pumpkin cookie – which I considered. (My mom has been raving about a pumpkin cookies recipe that she included in the beautiful cookbook she made me as a Christmas gift last year.) But even pumpkin cookies didn’t seem appealing enough to warrant cutting open my pumpkin, digging out the seeds, roasting the flesh and finally mashing it all up. So, I set out on a virtual hunt – a quest for knowledge on baking with pumpkin (and, while I’m at it, other late harvest veggies).

I came across many yummy recipes in my search – a number of which I have tried, shared, and enjoyed. In the last three weeks, I have baked pumpkin bars, savory squash scones, a flourless dark chocolate beet cake, and sweet pumpkin drop biscuits. I found one blog (http://blog.streaminggourmet.com/) that did a month (October) of recipes involving pumpkin – pretty much the Mecca that I was looking for – and this is where I first set eyes on the Pumpkin Chocolate Swirl Brownie. MMMmmmmmm.

If, in the last three weeks, you have been by for a visit or attended a potluck that I attended, then you have likely had a Pumpkin Chocolate Swirl Brownie because – like I said – I have become a one trick pony. Well, in an effort to let go and move on, I have decided to disclose my Pumpkin Chocolate Swirl Brownie recipe to you. Just be warned that this recipe may stunt the growth of your culinary skills!

Enjoy!

Pumpkin Chocolate Swirl Brownies

 

Ingredients

For the chocolate batter:

3/4 cup + 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

6 oz 70% cacao chocolate or unsweetened baking chocolate
1/2 cup unsalted butter

1/2 – 1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs

For the pumpkin batter:

1 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup white granulated sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
3/4-1 cup pumpkin purée
1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
Optional: 1 tsp ground cinnamon
                    1/4 tsp freshly ground nutmeg
                    1/4 tsp ground cloves

Method:

Preheat oven to 350˚F. Lightly grease a 9″ x 11″ baking pan.

Using a double boiler (or two differently-sized pots), melt the butter and chocolate together. [Everytime I make this recipe I forget how much 6 oz. of chocolate is. I still don’t remember but a quick google will give you the answer time and time again.]Remove from heat and allow to cool.

In a medium bowl, mix the dry ingredients for the chocolate batter: flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

In another medium bowl, mix the dry ingredients for the pumpkin batter (flour, baking powder and salt in slightly different proportions).

In a third bowl or standing mixer, beat together the 2 eggs and 1/2 cup of sugar for the pumpkin batter. Mix them for 3-5 minutes until fluffy. Add the vanilla and pumpkin and mix thoroughly. Add the melted butter and spices and blend well.

Add the brown sugar and vanilla extract to the melted chocolate and blend well. Beat in the eggs and combine well.

Time to mix your wet and dry. For the chocolate batter, fold the dry ingredients into the chocolate mixture, stirring as little as possible but still blending completely. For the pumpkin batter, pour the dry ingredients into the wet and mix (use a stand up mixer if you have one) to combine thoroughly. Again don’t overmix.

Pour half of the chocolate batter into your prepared pan. Layer half of the pumpkin batter on top of the chocolate. Repeat with the reaming two layers. Using a spatula, swirl the two batters together by inserting the tip all the way to the bottom of the pan and moving it through the batters in an S shape. Try to swirl the bottom layer up toward the top while continuing with the swirly, s-shaped motions.

Bake for 30-35 minutes. Allow to cool in the pan.

Yours in food, Keltie

Leave a Reply

