Oh, the Possibilities!

Monday, September 27th

While making sauerkraut at the Wolfville Farmer’s Market a few weeks ago, I overheard a conversation about roasting local red peppers and freezing them for later use. The directions sounded pretty simple and the results delicious so I jotted down the recipe – unbeknownst to the speaker.

The opportunity to roast peppers arose this weekend when I came across a bag of beautiful rainbow peppers at a stand in the Valley.

Here’s what I did:
Preheat oven to 500 degrees.
Wash peppers and cut them in half (or quarters if especially large).
Removed stems and seeds.
Place on a baking sheet, skin up.
Roast until the skin blackens and bubbles. This took about 25 minutes for me.

Save any liquid that has collected.
Remove from oven and place peppers immediately into a paper bag.
Place the paper bag in a pot or casserole dish and cover with a lid or plate.
Let peppers sweat. I left them about 30 minutes.
Remove peppers from the paper bag and peel away the skin.
Allow the peppers to cool completely then freeze. I froze mine in bags – including the collected liquid. [When I overheard the recipe, the suggestion was to freeze them in small pieces in an ice cube tray, pouring the collected liquid over them. I realized last minute that I didn’t have an extra ice cube tray.]

I froze mine in bags – including the collected liquid.

[When I overheard the recipe, the suggestion was to freeze them in small pieces in an ice cube tray, pouring the collected liquid over them. I realized last minute that I didn’t have an extra ice cube tray.]

Now, what should I use my roasted peppers for? Recipes are very welcome!

Yours in food, Keltie

Leave a Reply

